It ain’t over…

Do you know yourself?  No, I mean, really KNOW yourself?  Do you know what you like and don’t like, where you are in life and where you want to be?  Do you know your strengths, your weaknesses?  Do you know what people like about you, and even what they dislike?  Sometimes I think I know myself, only to realize I don’t really.

For instance, I thought I could handle critique.  But one negative opinion on a post I haven’t published, and I just stopped writing altogether for more than two weeks now.  I also though I had perseverance, but I seem to not be able to put my head down and tunnel through a lot of stuff in my life right now.

So, enough of the problems.  We need solutions.  How do you get to know yourself?  Did you once know yourself?  Have you changed?  Where is that person you thought you were?  Life happens, circumstances change, you get tired and lose your oomf…no need to give up.  I’m starting out on a road of rediscovery if you’d like to join me.

For today, get a blank writing pad or exercise book that will be your rediscover book.  Keep it close-by so you can write in it whenever something pops into your mind.  Start writing down what you miss about you – stuff you used to do, characteristics you know you showed and haven’t seen in a while, pieces of you that you feel you’ve lost.  I don’t have a recipe for this, and I don’t really have a plan yet.  But let’s just see where this goes if you will.  Besides, what have we got to lose 😉  All I know is, it ain’t over ’till the fat lady sings.

This entry was posted in Get an idea and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It ain’t over…

  1. Marcia Mayne says:

    To clarify: it was just over 2 weeks/3 weekends. The Zim part lasted about 4 days. We spent a weekend in each city. We’re still talking about it. A few nights ago, one of our friends called to tell me The Bachelor, a reality tv show was going to be in SA. I’ve never watched the show before but one of the 2 friends I went with and I watched it with the phones to our ears like a couple of school kids screaming and laughing when we saw the lions and other animals. Our 3 friend and traveling partner was out of town but we’re gearing up to watch the finale, which will be in Cape Town in 2 weeks.

  2. Marcia Mayne says:

    Hi Lizan, we spent 2 weeks between Johannesburg, Victoria Falls, Cape Town and Durban. It was unbelievably amazing. I used to be a water/sea person. After seeing the mountains in SA, I can now say I love mountains just as much. Made some wonderful friends, would go back in a heartbeat. I’ve written about it here http://insidejourneys.com. Take a look.
    Oh, I’m originally from Jamaica but I live in the U.S.

  3. Marcia Mayne says:

    Love this! I’m definitely going to try it.
    The fall is not as critical as getting back up. I blog about travel as a matter of fact, I got serious about blogging after my trip to SA last Aug/Sept. We saw so much, I wanted to share with everyone. Can’t wait to go back! You’ve got an amazingly beautiful country!!!
    Marcia

    • Lizán.Maree says:

      Thank you Marcia! Please share with me your experience – as I say, I’m just going to write about it as I go along. Where did you travel in South Africa? Where are you from? It is an amazing country and I love it!

Leave a Reply

