Never over…

I apologize for the delay!  It’s been a slow week creativity-wise and a busy week work-wise.  But I trust you have had time to rethink what I have said about change and losing yourself.

What I wanted to explain previously was this:  the only constant thing in life is change.  Agree?  I was on top of my primary school, in gr. 4 already.  I had a bright future of head prefect and top scholar ahead of me, in a school of 400 pupils.  We moved, I changed schools, and I found myself between 1500 other kids.  What a shock to my system.  Suddenly I had competition both in the classroom and on the sport field.  I didn’t know myself anymore.  And so the pattern continue.  We become something by the time we reach gr. 7, then we hit high school and BAM!…nothing again.  Start climbing the ladder, figure yourself out, main peanut by matric, only to be nothing again as you enter the working world or varsity or college.

Moral of the story: don’t get comfortable.  Life is change.  And that’s why we live, or we would have been robots.  We can do nothing to avoid it, but we can be aware of the reality thereof.  You don’t lose yourself.  You become comfortable with yourself.  You know your strengths and weaknesses in a specific situation or circumstance, and you know how to apply your abilities and talents.  Then the situation changes, and you have to figure out how to use the SAME abilities and talents in different circumstances.  This may lead to the discovery of new strengths or weaknesses, and will certainly cause unease and discomfort.  But, you have not lost yourself.

So how do you handle this?  I suggest: we analyze who we were, who we are, and who we want to be.  What characteristics about yourself do you like, what would you like to develop, and what weaknesses would you like to overcome?  Define yourself through a Strengths-Weaknesses-Opportunities-Threats analysis and stick it up somewhere.

Next time you flip out because you feel lost, study your SWOT analysis, take stock of your situation and see how you can apply yourself to the new circumstances.  Maybe we just need a bit more left-brained approach to living?

This entry was posted in Get an idea and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never over…

  1. InsideJourneys says:

    Your timing’s perfect! I needed this. Going through some changes and feeling unsure of my next steps. Hadn’t even considered doing a SWOT analysis. Funny thing is that if someone else had asked, I would have suggested it!
    Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

